Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL) has announced 660 tentative Artisan Grade IV vacancies under Advertisement No. 01/2026, titled “Artisan Recruitment – 2027.” The short notice covers seven trades across BHEL manufacturing units. Candidates should note that the detailed application instructions, reservation details and selection-process information are due to be posted on the official BHEL Careers portal by 19 October 2026; the short notice does not itself provide a confirmed application closing date.
BHEL Artisan Recruitment 2026: Key Details
| Particular | Details in the short notice |
|---|---|
| Organisation | Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL) |
| Advertisement | 01/2026 — Artisan Recruitment 2027 |
| Post | Artisan Grade IV |
| Vacancies | 660, tentative |
| Trades | Fitter, Welder, Turner, Machinist, Electrician, Electronics Mechanic and Foundryman |
| Qualification | Class X, NTC/ITI and NAC in the relevant trade |
| Age calculation date | 1 October 2026 |
| CBT | December 2026, tentative |
| Detailed instructions | To be hosted on BHEL Careers by 19 October 2026 |
| Official source | BHEL Recruitment |
Important: The 660 posts are described as tentative in the notice. Applicants should rely on the latest official BHEL advertisement and Careers portal for final vacancies, reservation, application dates, fees and the application link.
Trade-Wise Vacancies
The published short-notice summary lists the following distribution across seven trades:
| Trade | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Fitter | 278 |
| Welder | 104 |
| Turner | 52 |
| Machinist | 101 |
| Electrician | 90 |
| Electronics Mechanic | 23 |
| Foundryman | 12 |
| Total | 660 |
These figures should be treated as tentative until BHEL publishes any revised or unit-wise vacancy statement. Check the official notice for the number of positions available at each unit and the trade-specific requirements before choosing a preference.
BHEL Artisan Age Limit 2026
The upper-age limit is calculated as on 1 October 2026. The category-wise limits stated in the recruitment information are:
| Category | Upper age |
|---|---|
| General / EWS | 27 years |
| OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) | 30 years |
| SC / ST | 32 years |
The notice also refers to age relaxation for PwD and Ex-Servicemen as per applicable government rules, and up to seven years of relaxation based on relevant work experience in the prescribed format. Check the detailed official notice for the exact conditions, proof required and whether a particular relaxation applies to your case. Do not assume relaxations can be combined unless BHEL expressly permits it.
To check whether you fall within the age limit, calculate your completed age on 1 October 2026—not on the day you fill in the form. You can use the site’s age calculator tools as a quick check, then confirm eligibility against the official rules.
Educational Qualification: Class 10, ITI and NAC
The stated qualification is Class X pass plus a National Trade Certificate (NTC/ITI) and a National Apprenticeship Certificate (NAC) in the relevant trade. The marks requirement described in the notice is at least 60% for General and OBC candidates and 55% for SC and ST candidates in both the NTC/ITI and NAC qualifications.
- Check that your ITI/NTC trade matches the Artisan trade you intend to select.
- Keep your Class X certificate and marksheet available.
- Keep the ITI/NTC certificate and marksheet ready.
- Keep the NAC certificate and marks record ready.
- Review the detailed notice for accepted equivalents, certificate formats and any category-specific provisions.
Knowledge of the relevant regional language is described as desirable for certain unit locations; the detailed advertisement should be checked for the exact unit-wise language guidance. Meeting the minimum qualification alone does not guarantee selection.

Where Are the BHEL Artisan Jobs Located?
The recruitment information names BHEL manufacturing units including Ranipet, Visakhapatnam, Bengaluru, Haridwar, Hyderabad, Bhopal, Jhansi and Tiruchirappalli. Candidates should read the unit-wise vacancy table in the official notice carefully because the available trades and number of positions can differ by location.
Selection Process and Exam Date
The short notice indicates that a Computer Based Test (CBT) is tentatively planned for December 2026, with the same-day test plan applying across the listed vacancies. The full selection process and detailed instructions were scheduled to be published on the BHEL Careers portal by 19 October 2026. Do not rely on unofficial claims about the exam duration, question count, skill test, qualifying marks or final merit formula until those details are confirmed by BHEL.
How to Apply for BHEL Artisan Recruitment
As of this short-notice announcement, the complete application steps and confirmed registration dates are not specified in the available notice summary. BHEL says the detailed instructions are to be hosted on its Careers portal by 19 October 2026. Use the following checklist when the official application link and instructions appear:
- Open the official BHEL Recruitment page and follow the link to the Careers portal.
- Download Advertisement No. 01/2026, “Artisan Recruitment – 2027,” and read the complete eligibility rules.
- Check the unit-wise and trade-wise vacancies before selecting a preference.
- Prepare the required Class X, ITI/NTC, NAC, category and other supporting documents in the format specified by BHEL.
- Complete the online form only through the official portal, if online registration is confirmed in the detailed instructions.
- Review every entry before submitting and save the final application and acknowledgement.
- Check the official portal for fee rules, correction windows, admit-card updates and the confirmed exam schedule.
The notice summary states that a candidate may apply for vacancies in one unit only. Confirm the exact unit-selection rule and any exceptions in the detailed advertisement before submitting the form.
Important Dates to Track
| Event | Date / status |
|---|---|
| Age reckoning date | 1 October 2026 |
| Detailed selection and application instructions | Expected on BHEL Careers by 19 October 2026 |
| Reservation and relaxation details | Portal update indicated for 19 October 2026 |
| Computer Based Test | December 2026, tentative |
| Application start and closing dates | Confirm from the official detailed notice; not specified in the short notice summary |
Frequently Asked Questions
How many vacancies are available in BHEL Artisan Recruitment 2026?
The short notice lists 660 tentative Artisan Grade IV vacancies across seven trades.
What is the age limit for General candidates?
The stated upper age for General/EWS candidates is 27 years as on 1 October 2026. The corresponding stated limits are 30 years for OBC (NCL) and 32 years for SC/ST candidates, subject to official conditions.
Is ITI alone enough to apply?
The listed requirement includes Class X, NTC/ITI and an NAC in the relevant trade, along with the specified marks. Check the detailed notice for the complete requirements.
When will applications open and close?
The short notice summary does not establish a confirmed application start or closing date. BHEL indicated that application instructions would be published on the Careers portal by 19 October 2026. Check the official portal for the actual registration window.
When is the BHEL Artisan exam?
The CBT is tentatively planned for December 2026. Treat this as provisional until BHEL publishes the confirmed schedule.
Can I choose more than one BHEL unit?
The recruitment summary states that candidates may apply against vacancies of one unit only. Confirm the full instructions before submitting an application.
Final Checklist
- Check the official detailed notice and current application status.
- Calculate age as on 1 October 2026.
- Confirm your trade-specific NTC/ITI and NAC qualifications and marks.
- Review category relaxations and the unit-wise vacancy list.
- Do not rely on a guessed closing date, fee or exam pattern.
- Keep a copy of the submitted form and monitor the BHEL Careers portal for updates.
Disclaimer: This guide summarises the available BHEL short-notice information for general guidance. Vacancy figures and the December exam schedule are tentative where stated. The latest official BHEL advertisement, application portal and any corrigendum take precedence.
