IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026 Updated: The Institute of Banking Personnel Selection has revised the indicative vacancy position for CRP-RRBs-XV as of 9 September 2026. The updated annexure takes the total indicative vacancies to 13,745, up from the earlier 13,706. The increase comes from the Office Assistant (Multipurpose) cadre, which rises from 8,183 to 8,222; Officer Scale I remains at 4,256, Officer Scale II at 1,047 and Officer Scale III at 220.
This article explains exactly what changed, the updated post-wise and state-wise vacancy figures, why the total increased by 39, how the revised numbers affect applicants, and what candidates should check before the 21 September 2026 application deadline. The vacancy figures are indicative: IBPS states that provisional allotment will ultimately be based on actual vacancies reported by participating Regional Rural Banks.

IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026 Updated: Latest Status
The latest IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026 update is dated 9 September 2026. IBPS has published an updated Annexure I for CRP-RRBs-XV. The revised annexure increases the indicative total from 13,706 to 13,745 vacancies.
The important point is that this is an update to the vacancy position, not a new recruitment cycle. Candidates who are already preparing or who are completing their applications should use the latest annexure rather than relying on the original 31 August/1 September vacancy figures.
| Particular | Updated IBPS RRB 2026 detail |
|---|---|
| Recruitment | CRP-RRBs-XV |
| Update date | 9 September 2026 |
| Total indicative vacancies | 13,745 |
| Office Assistant (Multipurpose) | 8,222 |
| Officer Scale I | 4,256 |
| Officer Scale II | 1,047 |
| Officer Scale III | 220 |
| Application deadline | 21 September 2026 |
IBPS also makes an important qualification: these are indicative and anticipated vacancies communicated by participating RRBs. Provisional allotment is based on the actual vacancies reported by the RRBs. Therefore, candidates should not treat 13,745 as a guaranteed final joining count.
What Changed in the IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026 Update?
The change is straightforward. The original recruitment notification showed 13,706 indicative vacancies. The updated 9 September annexure takes the figure to 13,745, an increase of 39.
| Cadre | Earlier figure | Updated figure | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office Assistant (Multipurpose) | 8,183 | 8,222 | +39 |
| Officer Scale I | 4,256 | 4,256 | No change |
| Officer Scale II | 1,047 | 1,047 | No change |
| Officer Scale III | 220 | 220 | No change |
| Total | 13,706 | 13,745 | +39 |
The additional 39 positions are in the Office Assistant cadre. The updated vacancy material identifies the newly reported Tripura Gramin Bank Office Assistant vacancies as the reason for the increase: the earlier table had that entry as not reported, while the updated annexure reports 39.
This distinction matters. The 39-post increase should not be described as 39 vacancies added to every state or as a general increase across all cadres. It is a specific update to the Office Assistant vacancy position.
IBPS RRB 2026 Revised Vacancy: Post-Wise Breakdown
The latest vacancy position covers four recruitment groups: Office Assistant (Multipurpose), Officer Scale I, Officer Scale II and Officer Scale III.
Office Assistant (Multipurpose) — 8,222 vacancies
Office Assistant is the largest single cadre in the recruitment. The updated figure is 8,222. Candidates commonly refer to this post as “RRB Clerk,” although the formal IBPS designation in the notification is Office Assistant (Multipurpose).
The Office Assistant route has a different selection structure from the officer posts. Candidates should therefore use the correct Office Assistant notification, exam pattern and eligibility rules instead of assuming that officer-stage rules apply to the clerk/assistant cadre.
Officer Scale I — 4,256 vacancies
Officer Scale I, commonly called RRB PO or Assistant Manager in preparation material, remains at 4,256 indicative vacancies. The September 9 update did not increase this total.
Officer Scale II — 1,047 vacancies
Officer Scale II covers the Manager-level recruitment, including General Banking Officer and specialist streams. The combined updated total is 1,047.
Officer Scale III — 220 vacancies
Officer Scale III, the Senior Manager-level cadre, remains at 220 indicative vacancies.
| Post | Updated vacancies | Selection route |
|---|---|---|
| Office Assistant (Multipurpose) | 8,222 | Prelims + Mains |
| Officer Scale I | 4,256 | Prelims + Mains + Interview |
| Officer Scale II | 1,047 | Single exam + Interview |
| Officer Scale III | 220 | Single exam + Interview |
For the exam-pattern details already covered on the site, see the IBPS RRB Office Assistant Exam Pattern 2026 and IBPS RRB Officer Scale I Exam Pattern 2026 guides.
IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026 State-Wise: Office Assistant and Scale I
The state-wise distribution is particularly useful for Office Assistant and Scale I applicants because the vacancy table can help candidates understand where the participating RRBs have reported openings. It should not, however, be used alone to predict cutoffs or selection chances.
| State/UT | Office Assistant | Officer Scale I |
|---|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh | 900 | 400 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 26 | 15 |
| Assam | 181 | 169 |
| Bihar | 500 | 394 |
| Chhattisgarh | 296 | 99 |
| Gujarat | 510 | 600 |
| Haryana | 211 | 94 |
| Himachal Pradesh | 51 | 30 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 200 | 32 |
| Jharkhand | 285 | 80 |
| Karnataka | 279 | 300 |
| Kerala | 350 | 55 |
| Madhya Pradesh | 484 | 252 |
| Maharashtra | 300 | 150 |
| Manipur | 0 | 0 |
| Meghalaya | 26 | 26 |
| Mizoram | 45 | 25 |
| Nagaland | 6 | 2 |
| Odisha | 600 | 375 |
| Puducherry | 11 | 9 |
| Punjab | 85 | 75 |
| Rajasthan | 225 | 250 |
| Tamil Nadu | 244 | 90 |
| Telangana | 750 | 160 |
| Tripura | 39 | 0 |
| Uttar Pradesh | 1,200 | 425 |
| Uttarakhand | 214 | 75 |
| West Bengal | 204 | 74 |
| Total | 8,222 | 4,256 |
The table above focuses on the two largest cadres. Officer Scale II has multiple specialist streams, so candidates applying for those posts should use the detailed Annexure I rather than trying to infer a vacancy from the Scale I table.

Which States Have the Highest IBPS RRB Vacancies?
For Office Assistant, the largest listed state totals are Uttar Pradesh with 1,200, Andhra Pradesh with 900, Telangana with 750, Odisha with 600 and Gujarat with 510.
For Officer Scale I, Gujarat has the highest listed figure at 600, followed by Uttar Pradesh with 425, Andhra Pradesh with 400, Bihar with 394 and Odisha with 375.
These numbers can be useful when understanding the vacancy distribution, but a larger vacancy count does not automatically mean an easier selection. Candidate volume, category-wise competition, examination difficulty, local-language requirements, preferences and the actual vacancy position at allotment all matter.
Why local language still matters
RRB recruitment is linked to participating Regional Rural Banks and their prescribed local languages. A candidate should not select a state simply because its vacancy number looks attractive. Before applying, read the official notification’s language requirement for the relevant RRB and post.
IBPS RRB Office Assistant Vacancy 2026: Why It Increased
The original Office Assistant figure was 8,183. In the updated Annexure I dated 9 September, the figure becomes 8,222. The 39-post difference corresponds to the updated reporting for Tripura Gramin Bank.
This is an example of why candidates should check the latest vacancy annexure even after reading the original recruitment notification. Participating RRBs can communicate updated vacancy information, and IBPS can publish an updated annexure without reopening the recruitment as a completely new examination.
The practical lesson is simple: if you saved an older PDF showing 13,706 vacancies, keep it for historical reference but use the latest IBPS update when discussing the current vacancy position.
IBPS RRB 2026 Application Dates and Official Links
The application window remains open after the vacancy update. The latest official registration portals show 1 September to 21 September 2026 for online registration and fee payment.
| Activity | Date |
|---|---|
| Online registration starts | 1 September 2026 |
| Last date to register | 21 September 2026 |
| Last date for online fee payment | 21 September 2026 |
| Office Assistant application printing | Up to 5 October 2026 |
| Officer application printing | Up to 6 October 2026 |
Use the official IBPS CRP-RRBs-XV page for the latest notification, vacancy update and corrigendum. IBPS provides separate registration routes for Office Assistants and Group A Officers.
Does the Revised Vacancy Change Eligibility or Exam Pattern?
No. The 9 September update is a vacancy-annexure update. It does not by itself create a new age limit, qualification rule or examination pattern.
IBPS’s updated notice says that the other terms and conditions of the detailed notification remain unchanged. Candidates should therefore continue to use the main CRP-RRBs-XV notification for eligibility, age, educational qualification, experience, local-language requirements, fee and examination rules.
For example, Office Assistant and Officer Scale I have different selection routes, while Scale II and Scale III do not follow the same preliminary-examination structure. Do not change your preparation strategy merely because the vacancy total has moved from 13,706 to 13,745.
How Candidates Should Use the Updated Vacancy List
1. Confirm your post first
Identify whether you are applying for Office Assistant, Scale I, Scale II or Scale III. The vacancy table has different rows for each cadre.
2. Check your state or RRB
For Office Assistant and Scale I, review the state-wise vacancy information and the participating RRB information in the official annexure.
3. Check category columns carefully
Do not read the total column as your personal category vacancy. Reservation and category-specific figures are reported separately in the official tables.
4. Confirm local-language eligibility
A high vacancy number is useful only if you meet the applicable requirements. Read the prescribed language and other eligibility conditions before final submission.
5. Do not delay the application
The updated vacancy is not an extension of the registration deadline. The official application window still closes on 21 September 2026.
For a broader overview of the recruitment, see the site’s IBPS RRB Recruitment 2026 guide. This new page focuses specifically on the revised vacancy position.
IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026: Important Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1: Using the old 13,706 figure
The latest indicative total is 13,745. Candidates writing about or planning around the recruitment should use the September 9 update.
Mistake 2: Calling 13,745 guaranteed final vacancies
IBPS describes the figures as indicative. Actual vacancies reported by RRBs are relevant for provisional allotment.
Mistake 3: Assuming all 39 additional posts are in every cadre
The increase is specifically in Office Assistant. Scale I, II and III totals remain unchanged in the updated position.
Mistake 4: Choosing a state only because it has more seats
Vacancy count is only one factor. Local language and other eligibility requirements can be decisive.
Mistake 5: Confusing application printing with the application deadline
The later application-printing dates do not mean candidates can submit or pay after 21 September. Registration and fee payment close on the stated deadline.
Mistake 6: Submitting a duplicate application because vacancies changed
The vacancy update does not itself create a new registration window. Follow the official instructions for existing applicants and make corrections only through the permitted process.
Mistake 7: Predicting cutoff from vacancy alone
Cutoffs depend on multiple factors. A higher vacancy count can influence competition, but it cannot by itself establish a safe score.
IBPS RRB 2026 Selection Process by Post
| Post | Broad selection stages |
|---|---|
| Office Assistant | Preliminary Examination → Main Examination → Provisional Allotment |
| Officer Scale I | Preliminary Examination → Main Examination → Interview → Provisional Allotment |
| Officer Scale II | Single Online Examination → Interview → Provisional Allotment |
| Officer Scale III | Single Online Examination → Interview → Provisional Allotment |
The exact rules, qualifying requirements and merit calculations should be taken from the current IBPS notification. The vacancy update does not replace those rules.
Candidates preparing for Office Assistant can also review the site’s IBPS RRB Office Assistant Salary 2026 article for the broader job context, while candidates targeting Scale II or III can use the site’s respective salary and exam-pattern guides.
Frequently Asked Questions About IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026
What is the latest IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026?
The updated indicative total for CRP-RRBs-XV is 13,745 vacancies as of 9 September 2026.
How many IBPS RRB Office Assistant vacancies are there in 2026?
The updated Office Assistant (Multipurpose) vacancy is 8,222, compared with 8,183 in the original vacancy position.
How many Officer Scale I vacancies are there in IBPS RRB 2026?
Officer Scale I has 4,256 indicative vacancies in the updated position.
How many Officer Scale II vacancies are there?
The combined Officer Scale II vacancy is 1,047 across the applicable General Banking Officer and specialist streams.
How many Officer Scale III vacancies are there?
Officer Scale III has 220 indicative vacancies.
Why did IBPS RRB vacancies increase from 13,706 to 13,745?
The increase of 39 comes from the updated Office Assistant vacancy position. Tripura Gramin Bank, which was previously not reported in the relevant Office Assistant vacancy table, is reported with 39 posts in the updated annexure.
Is 13,745 the final number of IBPS RRB vacancies?
No. IBPS describes the updated figures as indicative and anticipated vacancies. Provisional allotment is based on actual vacancies reported by participating RRBs.
What is the last date to apply for IBPS RRB 2026?
The online registration and fee-payment window is scheduled to close on 21 September 2026. Candidates should complete submission before the deadline rather than relying on the later application-printing dates.
Does the vacancy update change the IBPS RRB exam pattern?
No. The vacancy update changes the reported vacancy position. Candidates should continue following the main CRP-RRBs-XV notification for exam pattern and selection rules.
Which state has the highest IBPS RRB Office Assistant vacancy?
Uttar Pradesh has the highest listed Office Assistant total in the updated state-wise table at 1,200, followed by Andhra Pradesh at 900 and Telangana at 750.
Which state has the highest Officer Scale I vacancy?
Gujarat has the highest listed Officer Scale I total at 600 in the updated state-wise table.
Can I choose a state only because it has more vacancies?
No. Candidates must satisfy the applicable eligibility and local-language requirements and should follow the official application rules for the participating RRB.
Official IBPS Sources
- IBPS CRP Regional Rural Banks XV official page
- IBPS official website
- Official Officer Scale I, II & III registration portal
- Official Office Assistant registration portal
IBPS’s September 9 update is the controlling source for the revised vacancy position. The official site also lists the related corrigendum. Candidates should read the latest annexure together with the detailed CRP-RRBs-XV notification rather than using an isolated social-media graphic or an old vacancy table.
Final Takeaway
The IBPS RRB Vacancy 2026 position has been updated, and the headline figure is now 13,745 indicative vacancies. The Office Assistant total has increased by 39 to 8,222, while Officer Scale I remains at 4,256, Officer Scale II at 1,047 and Officer Scale III at 220.
The most important practical point is that the revised vacancy does not extend the application deadline. Candidates still need to complete registration and fee payment by 21 September 2026. Use the latest vacancy annexure to check the relevant state, RRB, cadre and category, but continue to use the main notification for eligibility and examination rules.
In short: use the September 9 vacancy update, verify your state and post, check local-language and category requirements, submit before September 21, and continue preparation without assuming that the indicative vacancy number guarantees selection.
Disclaimer: This article is for informational and exam-preparation purposes. IBPS may update vacancy figures, corrigenda, schedules or other recruitment details. Always verify the latest notification and vacancy annexure on the official IBPS website before making an application decision.