Recurring Deposit Age Limit in India 2026: Minor, Adult & Eligibility Rules
8 min read

Recurring Deposit Age Limit in India 2026: Minor, Adult & Eligibility Rules

Recurring Deposit (RD) age limit in India 2026: a Post Office National Savings Recurring Deposit account can be opened by a single adult, up to three adults jointly, a guardian on behalf of a minor, or a minor who has attained 10 years of age in the minor’s own name. The current National Savings Recurring Deposit Scheme, 2019 also provides for multiple accounts, a five-year maturity period and a minimum monthly deposit of ₹100 in multiples of ₹10.

That means there is no rule that an RD account is only for people aged 18 or above. The important age threshold for a minor operating an RD in their own name is 10 years. A younger child can still have an RD account through a guardian. The rules below are based primarily on the official National Savings Recurring Deposit Scheme, 2019 and current India Post customer information.

India Post letter box at Anand Head Office in Gujarat
India Post letter box at Anand Head Office, Gujarat; photograph by Niraj Hitesh Chauhan, CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

Recurring Deposit Age Limit in India 2026

The National Savings Recurring Deposit Scheme, 2019 sets out four routes for opening an RD account:

ApplicantCan open RD?Age rule
Single adultYesAdult
Joint accountYesUp to 3 adults jointly
Guardian for minorYesGuardian opens on behalf of the minor
Minor in own nameYesMinor must have attained 10 years

The official scheme specifically states that an account may be opened by a guardian on behalf of a minor or by a minor who has attained 10 years in the minor’s own name. Therefore, 10 years is the key self-operation age threshold for the scheme; it is not a minimum age below which a child cannot have an RD at all.

Can a Minor Open a Recurring Deposit Account?

Yes. The scheme provides two practical routes for minors:

  • Below 10 years: a guardian can open the account on behalf of the minor.
  • 10 years and above but below majority: the minor can open the RD in their own name under the scheme, or a guardian can open an account on behalf of the minor.
  • After attaining majority: the account holder’s status changes from minor to adult and the required account formalities should be completed with the post office as applicable.

India Post’s customer information also confirms that parents or legal guardians can open an RD account in the name of a minor child. For account-opening documentation, India Post lists guardian KYC details for minor accounts.

RD Age Examples

Child’s agePossible routeWhat it means
7 yearsGuardian routeGuardian can open the RD in the child’s name.
9 years 11 monthsGuardian routeThe child has not yet attained 10, so the guardian route applies.
10 yearsOwn-name route or guardian routeThe child has attained the scheme’s 10-year threshold for an account in their own name.
15 yearsOwn-name route or guardian routeThe minor can hold an RD under the minor-account rules.
18 yearsAdult routeThe person is an adult; adult account formalities apply.
60 yearsAdult routeThere is no upper age limit stated in the RD opening provision for an adult.

Is There a Maximum Age for a Post Office RD?

The National Savings Recurring Deposit Scheme’s opening provision identifies adults, guardians acting for minors and minors aged 10 or above. It does not specify a maximum age for an adult to open an RD account. Therefore, an eligible adult is not excluded merely for being 60, 70 or older.

This is different from age-restricted schemes such as the Senior Citizens Savings Scheme, which has its own eligibility conditions. If you are comparing schemes, see our SCSS Age Limit 2026 guide rather than assuming that SCSS age rules apply to RD.

India Post office building on ITI Road in Vijayawada
India Post office, ITI Road, Vijayawada, 2025; CC0 image by Akshitha Yara via Wikimedia Commons.

RD Account Rules You Should Know in 2026

RuleCurrent position
Minimum monthly deposit₹100
Deposit multiples₹10 multiples
Maximum depositNo maximum specified in the scheme
Number of accountsAn individual may have more than one account, subject to the scheme rules
Maturity period5 years
Monthly deposits60 monthly deposits are required under the scheme
Current India Post interest rate6.7% per annum, as listed by India Post

The Department of Posts currently lists the National Savings Recurring Deposit Account at 6.7% per annum, with interest compounded quarterly. Interest rates for small-savings schemes are notified by the government and can change for future periods, so check the current India Post and Department of Economic Affairs information when you open an account.

How the 10-Year Rule Works

The phrase “10 years” can be misunderstood. The RD rule does not say that every minor must wait until 10 to have an account. Instead, the scheme separately allows a guardian to open an account for a minor and allows a minor who has attained 10 years to open an account in the minor’s own name.

For example, a parent could open an RD in the name of a 6-year-old child. When a child is already 10 or older, the own-name provision is available under the scheme. This distinction is important when searching for the “minimum age for RD” because the answer depends on whether you mean the child’s eligibility to be the account holder or the child’s ability to open the account personally.

RD vs PPF: Are the Age Rules the Same?

No. Both are government small-savings products, but their age provisions are not identical. The PPF rules allow a minor account through a parent or guardian, while the RD scheme expressly provides an own-name route for a minor who has attained 10 years.

For the separate PPF rules, see our PPF Age Limit in India 2026 guide. For a retirement-focused account with a different age framework, you can also read our NPS Age Limit in India 2026 guide if that article is relevant to your comparison.

Documents and KYC for a Minor RD

India Post’s current customer guidance lists KYC documents for account opening and specifically notes that guardian KYC details are required for a minor account. In practice, the exact document set can depend on the account holder’s circumstances and the post office’s current KYC requirements.

  • Account opening form and required deposit documentation.
  • Identity and address proof as required under current KYC rules.
  • Proof of date of birth for the minor where required.
  • Guardian’s KYC details for a guardian-operated minor account.

Common RD Age-Limit Mistakes

  • Assuming 18 is the minimum age: the scheme expressly permits minor accounts.
  • Assuming a child below 10 cannot have an RD: a guardian can open an account on the minor’s behalf.
  • Confusing “account in the minor’s name” with “minor opens it personally”: the guardian route and own-name route are different provisions.
  • Applying SCSS age rules to RD: RD is not a senior-citizen-only scheme.
  • Using an old interest rate: small-savings rates can be revised for different periods, so check current official rates.

RD Age-Limit Eligibility Checklist

  • Are you opening the account for yourself, jointly, or for a minor?
  • If the account is for a minor, is the child below 10 or already 10?
  • If the child is below 10, is the guardian’s KYC documentation ready?
  • If the child is 10 or older, do you want the account opened in the minor’s own name?
  • Have you checked the current interest rate and deposit rules before funding the account?
  • Are you using the current Post Office forms and KYC requirements?

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the minimum age for a Post Office RD?

There is no single minimum age that prevents a minor from having an RD. A guardian can open an RD on behalf of a minor, while a minor who has attained 10 years can open an account in the minor’s own name under the National Savings Recurring Deposit Scheme, 2019.

Can a 5-year-old have an RD?

Yes, a guardian can open an RD account on behalf of a minor. The 10-year threshold applies to the minor’s own-name opening route, not to the existence of every minor RD account.

Can a 10-year-old open an RD in their own name?

Yes. The scheme expressly allows a minor who has attained 10 years to open an account in the minor’s own name.

Is there an upper age limit for RD?

The RD opening provision does not specify a maximum age for an adult. An eligible adult can therefore open an RD without a stated upper-age cutoff under the scheme.

What is the RD maturity period?

The National Savings Recurring Deposit Scheme, 2019 specifies a maturity period of five years, with 60 monthly deposits under the standard scheme rules.

Official Sources

Bottom line: The Recurring Deposit age limit in India 2026 is best understood as a set of account-opening routes rather than one universal age. Adults can open RD accounts, guardians can open accounts for minors, and a minor who has attained 10 years can open an RD in the minor’s own name. There is no stated maximum adult age in the RD opening provision. Always verify the latest Post Office rate, forms and KYC requirements before opening or modifying an account.